New Year, New Day & Maybe New Me.

Just like many of you, I took time to assess last year and write down my goals for this year.  All this happened on Jury Duty day in the waiting room. Everyone was dismissed at the end of the day. 🙂

If you’re anything like me, I spend more time making a to do list than actually doing stuff. But they say when you write it down, you’re more likely to do it, so I keep writing them down.

But this year, I don’t want to do a lot, I want to be more. But even then, I wrote a list.

I’m turning 30 this August and I want to simplify my life as much as possible and bring it down to what really matters…the basics.  The rest is just so distracting that keep us busy enough to not have any time for our loved ones;  the ones who truly deserve and need to most. They’re the ones who love us the most even with all of our junk.

This year, I want to be a fun girl. I think I’m fun some days but I really want to bring that girl out this year.

I want to laugh a lot and date my husband more. I’ve never gone ice skating, I asked if he would take me this year and he said yes!

I want to let go and let God be in control. I freak out a lot and I need to stop.

I want to be the kind of role model by daughter looks up to. It’s so hard to keep calm when you’ve asked your toddler to do something for the 400th time.

I want to be a really good friend to a few good friends. My husband will tell accounts of me crying over the fact that no one calls me their best friend but a few years ago, my sister bought me a teddy bear that had a sweater on and it said “best friends.” The funny thing is my husband is my best friend and he tells me I’m his, but I guess every girl wants that BFF…or maybe it’s just me. Whatever..

I don’t want to try to be perfect and pretend to have it all together because I don’t and that’s ok.

I’m still navigating this thing called motherhood and trying to date my husband at the same time.

It’s a lot of work.

But anything worthwhile is a lot of work…and work can be fun too 🙂

So very thankful for my life and praying for God’s blessings in our lives this year. To really taste that the Lord is good.

Happy New Year to all my followers…you guys really inspire me to come back and blog some more this year.

El

Leave a Reply

