to love & obey

If you love me, you will obey what I command (John 14:15)

I used to feel so much pressure reading that verse because I’d think Oh snap, I made a mistake and a fool out of Jesus, God is gonna doubt my love for him now and people are going to think and say she’s a hypocrite! Look at what she is saying, wearing and doing that’s the same girl who says believes/loves God?! What a hypocrite.

Many people are afraid of God because growing up they’ve been taught to fear God and if they do something wrong, they expect to be punished. If you bring up God in conversation, you can see how many people leave the room so quickly. At least, that’s how I was raised to see God as a grumpy old man who sits and judges people all day long. Many people don’t want to do the Jesus/church thing because they ALREADY know they can’t KEEP all the commandments. No one can. Jesus did. That’s why we need HIM.  I’m so thankful, over the last 12 years, I have come to know the truth and have been set free from the legalistic, religious views!

So many people are trying to get close to God or win God’s approval by doing the right things like going to church and reading their bible or doing good deeds. God is not impressed nor does he require all of that in order for him to love you. He loved you before you were even born. He might not approve or like certain behaviors and actions because ultimately they are not good for us but He loves US and delights in US.

I used to think that if I love God then I need to OBEY all his commands to show or prove God and others that I love him. Isn’t that how we’re raised in our families? It’s all conditional. What do you have to offer to ME? or I’ll scratch your back if you scratch mine. That’s why it is hard to believe because sounds too good to be true that God really loves us no matter what but it’s TRUE!

I relate my married life to my relationship with God. There are things that i know if I were to do that would make my hubby happy and even though I might not like that thing, I do it with gladness! Same is true with God. I love God so I obey him because it makes Him glad. No extra effort needed or guilt if I didn’t do something. He is not going to love me more or less.

This past year especially, I have come to know God in a newer way. A way that I can relax. I don’t have to keep all the rules. He is cool with me. I can be myself. It’s sad that some folks assume you lose your personality when You become a Christ follower. I have found out that I have actually been able to become more like myself since I’ve starting following Christ.

Our society hides and masks but  God reveals and sets free and loves.

He loves you no matter what!

And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how high, and how deep his love is.

May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God.

Ephesians: 3:18-19

Leave a Reply

