Post Baby Body

I never realized how hard losing weight could be  until I had a lot of weight to lose. Before pregnancy, losing weight was not so hard because I didn’t have a lot to lose but after baby, it’s been a bit of a struggle.

I was a size 2, when I became pregnant with my daughter and I gained total of Jessica Simpson. I gained a lot. Fine, 85 lbs. It’s twice as much as you’re supposed to gain. Me and my baby were completely fine and gave birth to 9lbs 1.6 oz healthy baby. I got up an walked after my last push. 🙂

Soon after, I was on a mission to get my pre baby body back asap!

If I had Weight Watchers sign me on for a million dollar contract, I am pretty sure I would have been to my size 2 by now.

I’m open to them, if they’re interested in me.

My daughter turned 1 this May and I’ve lost 60lbs and have about 25 lbs more to go.

I could have lost more, but somewhere along those months, I lost hope and I almost started believing that maybe they are right, I will not get my body back. So, I stopped making looking good a priority because to a lot of people my desire to be thin again was seen as vain and it was something for a mom to get over it, you’re a mom now.

Not me.

I care about the way I look. I want to feel good inside and out. Not just inside. Looking good, feeling sexy, wearing the tiny, tight outfits are important to me. If I want to have that, I need to make daily sacrifices and practice discipline and self-control.

I’m not obsessing about losing the weight fast nor am I get discouraged anymore.

I have rather accepted the idea that it will take some time but I will get there.

Where as before, I wanted to get there now.

I have so much respect for the moms who don’t lose themselves and still take care of themselves because they love themselves. Because you are worth it!

But I also understand, and feel for the moms who want to but don’t have the time or the child care to go to the gym or make time to work out at home.

I used say “oh, if you really want it, you will make the time!”

That was before I even got pregnant.

Experience is our greatest teacher.

It’s true for eating habits but I know with a baby, it’s very difficult to make the time to work out. An alternative would be taking the kids out on a stroll or finding a dvd workout for kids to do together. That will get you moving! Start somewhere. 🙂

Sometimes, a bag of hot cheetos, will really get a mom through the day. I’ve had days like that!

I think it taught me the importance of living in the season you’re in and not someone’s else’s season.

It taught me to accept things for what it is and it also taught me true change comes from getting so fed up with your current situation, that it pushes you to make changes to get to where you want to be.

For me, it’s been, taking walks around the transit center at work 2-3 times a day total of 45 minutes and going to the gym with hubby at least 3 times a week.  I’ve been eating healthier, trying to go back to my vegeterian diet, and treating my body with respect because it really works hard for me and I need to fuel it with nutrients it deserves.

I consider myself lucky to have a husband, who, not once made a comment about my weight but has loved me the same through my ups and downs, bones and curves, and all of me. He has been a constant support through it all.  I love him lots.

xo

El.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Post Baby Body

Leave a Reply

