FOMO: Fear of Missing Out

Interesting finding:

Last year MTV did a poll of 13-30 year olds and their web habits and came up with the term FOMO (fear of missing out) after reviewing the findings. There is a constant feeling in our culture that we might be
missing out on something better, therefore, we rarely commit to a decision that we can’t back out of if something better comes along.

I hate to admit this, but I find myself being indecisive a lot of times in my daily life. I decide to stick to a diet but I cave in because I hate to miss out on the yummy stuff everyone else will be having. I decide to workout but i change my mind as soon as I’m presented with a better opportunity. I want nice things but I’m too lazy to do anything about it. How about when a friend asks to meet up. I don’t want to say yes in case I change my mind and want to say no, then I don’t want to come off as a flake?

James 5:12

The Message (MSG)

 12And since you know that he cares, let your language show it. Don’t add words like “I swear to God” to your own words. Don’t show your impatience by concocting oaths to hurry up God. Just say yes or no. Just say what is true. That way, your language can’t be used against you

When we go out to eat to one of our favorite places, it will take me a long time to look through the menu to only order what I always get when I visit there. I’m probably afraid of not liking the something new and staying hungry LOL

When I do make a decision, I’m afraid of the ‘what if’s.” or worse, being held accountable for it.

Sometimes the hardest thing to do is just to show up.

To stay committed to whatever you choose.

To not have everything figured out

To not try to figure out how things will play out.

To live in the now and intentionally and making the most of what I’ve got.

To cut out from our ‘maybe’s” and “we’ll see'”

Romans 8:28 where Paul says:

“And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

Sometimes I don’t even understand God and his ways. Things don’t make sense to me. Things don’t add up. I can’t grasp it with my humanly mind. However, by experience I have seen that God is faithful and He is but during dry seasons, when I can’t feel Him, DOUBT rises up and I start questioning him and if I’m missing out on his call, his will for my life.

Proverbs 3:5-6

The Message (MSG)

5-12 Trust God from the bottom of your heart;    don’t try to figure out everything on your own. Listen for God’s voice in everything you do, everywhere you go;    he’s the one who will keep you on track. Don’t assume that you know it all.    Run to God! Run from evil! Your body will glow with health,    your very bones will vibrate with life! Honor God with everything you own;    give him the first and the best. Your barns will burst,    your wine vats will brim over. But don’t, dear friend, resent God’s discipline;    don’t sulk under his loving correction. It’s the child he loves that God corrects;    a father’s delight is behind all this.

During those days is when I need to be quite and I need to affirmation that it’s a partnership like friendship and a good marriage. That there is a part I play, and a part that He plays and together HE works everything (the good and the bad) for the good.

The Bible is full of stories about people who were faced with making tough decisions without knowing how they would play out. My hope for you is that you wed together spiritual practices (prayer, scripture reading, community, silence, et cetera) that strengthen your discernment and resolve to act when decisions come up in your life. -Rhett Smith Generation of Indecision

One thought on “FOMO: Fear of Missing Out

  1. Birthday gift ideas for your loved ones

    I think that you will agree with me that there
    is a lot of coffee lovers worldwide. My sister is a giant
    coffee lover, too. And she will be celebrating her birthday
    within a few weeks.

    I was thinking about a truly beautiful birthday gift for her.

    She has almost everything, so I was interested in a
    gift, which will make her stunned.

    I was searching a lot of gift stores on the internet for over a week.

    And I was lucky enough to find the company which is selling a fascinating coffee set in the
    secession style. Wow, I realized that this coffee set will be a beautiful birthday gift for my sister.

    So I ordered this coffee set from the on-line store which
    is owned by WEXONMART Inc. I placed the order, and I received the package from WEXONMART for two days.

    These guys are pretty fast, for sure.

    I ordered a coffee pot, sugar bowl, creamer and four smaller mocca cups and four larger coffe cups, too.
    I think that my sister and her family will certainly love this
    dazzling coffee set.

    As I have said my sister is the giant coffee lover, and
    she can’t imagine to survive even one day without her cups of the finest coffee.
    She usually needs 6 – 8 cups per day. Drinking of the finest coffee gives a lot of pleasure to
    her, for sure. However, there is another key thing which gives her such lovely feeling
    when she is drinking a cup of her coffee each time.
    Yes, you are right. A lot depends on a cup which you are using for your coffee.

    This appealing coffee set in the secession style contains totally appealing
    mocca cups, superb coffee mugs, a lovely sugar bowl and a amazing coffee pot.

    So, if you are such coffee addict as my sister then this splendid coffee
    set in the wonderful secession style will give you such stunning feeling when
    you will be drinking your coffee every day.

    Regards to all coffee lovers

    Graig LANGRIDGE

    Santa Barbara, CA

Leave a Reply

