Being Married to a Strong Man

I’m so lucky to be married to a strong man. He makes my life easy, he is my backbone, fills the gaps for me and never ever pressures me to be or do more.

The problem in most of our relationships in our society is that men want the authority and like to be in charge but they don’t like the responsibility. They would like to do and have things but they don’t want to be committed and responsible.

So many men, leave their pregnant girlfriends and wives and walk out on them and to make matters worse they don’t even want to pay for child support after they’re gone.

They all wanted something but never stayed there to take responsibility.

It is a burden for me when I see a husband coming home from work, putting his feet up and watching tv, while his wife also has a full time job as well, but comes home to run around like a nut case, trying to do the dishes, cook, go to soccer games and have the kids in check.

I was raised in a family that it was ok for men to be that way and women just accepted it. It’s not ok to be mistreated nor do you get married to have a full time maid.

I submit to my husband because he cares for me, he protects me, he helps me. Most of the time I don’t have trouble submitting to him because of the way he is with me.

Why do you think so many girls hate men and have the attitude of “I’m not gonna let a man tell me what to do! or “I don’t need a man.”

Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her. Eph 5:25

When I first started dating Osh, he’d come to the kitchen to help out and my dad would call him to go sit and watch the game with him. Even though my dad was raised to believe that was the way it had to be done, over the course of our relationship, my dad has come to terms and he now helps my mom so much more. Where as before he didn’t even know where the coffee cups were.

Before I met Osh, I had vowed to myself that I would not marry a man from my culture because growing up I had seen how most were and I didn’t want to be married to that for the rest of my life. Osh proved otherwise. I’m not saying all are this way but most are and someone needs to stand up and change the course.

Osh is a strong man. He is one of the most easy going, stable and commitment person I know.  He goes out of the way to make sure we are doing things together. We try to put each other first. If he sees me cooking, he comes to help me with the dishes. If he puts in the laundry, then I fold them.

When I had Emma, he stayed up all nights and took care of her. Even now, if Emma wakes up, Osh gets up to check on her and lets me sleep.

He lets me have my way a lot but when he puts his foot down, it’s down and I honor and respect him and let him have his way.  I have so much respect for him.

It really doesn’t have to be complicated.

If you want a good marriage, you must put the effort and not your feet up all the time.

There is a time to do that and you can do it together to relax.

Honor and value each other. It’s ok to do the dishes and vacuum- that doesn’t define or determine your man hood. It’s actually pretty attractive. I got so excited when I saw Osh ironing his shirt last week for my cousin’s wedding that I had to take a pic. 🙂

One thought on “Being Married to a Strong Man

Leave a Reply

