The 5 Year Service

Yesterday, I received my 5 year service award from CSUN. I can’t believe I’m still here. I started off as a student worker at the Corp in CSUN when I was only 17. That is when my mom and I came to visit the campus to fill out some paperwork, she noticed a job application and talked me into filling it out which I eventually got the job.

Five years of working at the corp as a student worker and going to school with first a Business Major, then later changed to Child Development, I then decided to leave to go into my field as I continued with schooling.

I left the corp and got a job as a preschool teacher but it didn’t take me too long to find out, I hated it. A month into it, I started reapplying to jobs at CSUN and one year later, I got hired as an Assistant at the Purchasing Office on campus.

It’s been 5 years since I’ve been here and a lot has happened during those years. I got promoted a few times to now being a Buyer I, married, had a baby but still have not yet received my bachelors. It’s so ironic. That is still my goal. I was supposed to walk last year May 23, 2011 but my daughter was born May 21st. I must start the graduation application process again….

Thanks for following this crazy journey of mine.

xoxo

El

Leave a Reply

